Becoming a Better Listener

Social Media, etc.

I’m a problem-solver. That’s one of the reasons I became a social strategist. I’m always on the look out for better solutions and ways to transform theory into practice. The downside to this is that I tend to not be the best listener. If you’re telling me anything that involves a problem my mind immediately focuses on that and begins to work on pulling together a variety of potential solutions. So even though I may nod and give some superficial “hmmmms…” and “then what?s” a decent part of my mind is elsewhere. While some may call that a strength- and to be sure it has often come in handy when a quick resolution is needed- it is also a potential weakness.

Social strategists must be strategic listeners as well as effective problem solvers. This can be difficult in our fast-paced world. The pressure comes externally as well as internally to…

View original post 344 more words

Leave a Reply

